Countries in South America

The southern region of the American continent, or the subcontinent of South America, spans about 40% of America’s total area, and it’s divided into 12 countries: Colombia, Venezuela, Ecuador, Surinam, Guyana, Perú, Bolivia, Brasil, Paraguay, Uruguay, Chile and Argentina. In these countries of South America you’ll find some of the most incredible travel destinations: emerald green lakes that look like something out of a fairy tale; breathtaking mountains and woodlands, fit for the most splendid alpine landscape; beaches with crystal-clear waters and sands as white as snow; or cities filled with colonial charm in every single street you walk by.

If you’re looking for South America tours, here you’ll find the best vacation spots and destinations to visit in the continent; a whole world of people, places and activities you won’t ever forget! Discover all the magic the countries in South America have to offer.

Touristic Destinations and Countries in South America

With more than 48 million people, the Republic of Colombia is one of the most populated countries in South America, and one of the countries with highest level of racial mixing during Colonial times. This is why Colombia has such an immense cultural diversity, as well as notorious contrasts between its regions. And this diversity includes the geographic aspects of the country, of course: in Colombia, you can find from mountains covered by snow to tropical beaches at temperatures over 86 F (30 ºC), including Amazon rainforest. The major cities in Colombia are Bogota (the capital city, with over 8 million people), Medellin, Cali, Barranquilla, Bucaramanga and Cartagena de Indias.


Colombia currency

Colombian peso (COP). 1 USD = 3,220 COP

Colombia travel destinations and activities

  • Caribbean islands of San Andres and Providencia
  • Cartagena de Indias
  • Santa Marta and Taganga
  • Tayrona National Park - Mountain range of Sierra Nevada de Santa Marta
  • Bogota, DC
  • Gorgona Island
  • Salento
  • The Coffee Belt region, comprised by the provinces of Antioquia, Caldas, Risaralda and Quindio.
  • Amazon rainforest
  • Barranquilla Carnival
  • Caño Cristales, at Macarena Natural National Park

The Bolivarian Republic of Venezuela is located in the southern region of South America, bordering Caribbean Sea. Like other countries in South America, Venezuela has a huge diversity in terms of geography, flora and fauna. In this tropical country you can find all kinds of ecosystems, including plains, tropical rainforest and Andean mountains. Venezuela's population stands at around 30 million, distributed in 23 states including the Capital District, Caracas. There are other major urban areas as well, like Maracaibo, Valencia or Barquisimeto.


Venezuela currency

The national currency in Venezuela is the Venezuelan Bolivar, and it has certain special conditions due to the economic situation of the country. Venezuela is one of the countries with highest inflation levels in the world, maintaining a strong exchange control and currency restrictions. Hence the circulation of two currencies at the same time: an official currency, the Bolivar Fuerte (BSF), with a value around USD 0.158; and a parallel currency negotiated in the informal market, with an exchange rate around 804 BSF  for a dollar at the moment.

Venezuela travel destinations and activities

  • Margarita Island
  • Caracas
  • Salto Ángel (Angel Fall)
  • Canaima National Park
  • Colonia Tovar
  • Coro Desert National Park
  • Los Roques Archipelago
  • Puerto La Cruz
  • Merida
  • Orinoco Delta
  • Barquisimeto

Insert tab 3 content here
Insert tab 3 content here
Insert tab 3 content here
Insert tab 3 content here
Insert tab 3 content here